TechWomen Event at Juniper Networks

This evening I attended an event hosted by Techwomen at Juniper Networks in the Bay Area. Symantec has been a sponsor for Techwomen since 2011 when I was a technical mentor in the inaugural class of the program.

TechWomen is an Initiative of the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. It is managed by the Institute of International Education’s Center for Women’s Leadership Initiatives. TechWomen empowers, connects, and supports the next generation of women leaders in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) from Africa and the Middle East by providing them the access and opportunity needed to advance their careers, pursue their dreams, and inspire women and girls in their communities.

Dr. Allan E. Goodman, President and CEO of the Institute of International Education gave some thoughts regarding the program followed by Lee A. Satterfield, Deputy Assistant Secretary at the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.
Subsequently, Sheila Casey from the US state department led a panel discussion comprising of 3 mentors and I mentee from Jordan who went back and started an online eCommerce company. It was exciting to hear their experiences with the program.

To learn more about Techwomen or get involved visit:
http://www.techwomen.org/get-involved/
For those in Mountain View, Techwomen is accepting Technical Mentor applications Through June 1. Cultural mentor applications are open from June 1 through August 1 via the website above.

23 thoughts on “TechWomen Event at Juniper Networks

  1. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people
    consider worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Reply
  2. Heya this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to
    know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code
    with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Reply
  3. Impresionante Página. Continua este buen trabajo.Contiene un contenido realmente excelente sobre el tema y tus comentarios son muy acertados.

    Solo mencionar que estoy sorprendido por haber encontrado esta Página web
    Seguramente tienes el mejor sitio

    web sobre el tema.
    Gracias!!!!

    Reply
  4. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m
    thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Appreciate it

    Reply
  5. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying
    your blog and look forward to new updates.

    Reply
  6. I don’t even understand how I stopped up here, but I assumed this submit was great. I don’t
    recognise who you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger when you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

    Reply
  7. Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this blog
    loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply
  8. When someone writes an article he/she retains the plan of a
    user in his/her brain that how a user can know it.

    Thus that’s why this article is amazing. Thanks!

    Reply
  9. Thhis design is incredible! Youu most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and youur videos, I was almost mooved to start my own blokg (well, almost…HaHa!) Geat job.
    I really enjoyed what you had tto say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

